Annual Meeting

*** 2020 Annual Meeting of the Membership & Nominee Information***


New Horizons Credit Union is overseen by a volunteer Board of Directors and Supervisory Committee who are elected by our membership at the Annual Meeting. The Annual Meeting is scheduled for Friday, April 24, 2020, at 7 p.m. at the University of South Alabama – Student Center - Mobile, AL.

The Nominating Committee, appointed by the Board Chairman, nominates at least one (1) member for each vacancy and determines that the nominees are qualified and willing to serve. The slate of candidates, as presented by the Nominating Committee, for three Board of Director positions and one Supervisory Committee positions with all positions to serve a 3-year term include Board Incumbents: Linda Brown, Craig Jones, and Larry Landrum; and Supervisory Committee Incumbent: DeAnna Ferguson.

A brief statement of qualifications is included in this notice. Per Credit Union Bylaws, an election will not be conducted by ballot, and there will be no nominations from the floor where there is at least one nominee for each position to be filled.

Nominations for vacancies may still be made by petition signed by 1% of the members with a maximum of 500.  Each nominee by petition must submit a similar statement of qualifications and biographical data with the petition. Nominations by petition must be accompanied by a signed certificate from the nominee that they are agreeable to nomination and will serve if elected to office. All signed petitions must be received by March 1, 2020 and submitted to:

Secretary of the Board
New Horizons Credit Union
P.O. Box 2966
Mobile, AL 36652

Any candidate who wishes to run for office must be a member in good standing with the Credit Union. Interested and qualified members may obtain a candidate/petition packet from the Corporate Office at 622 Azalea Road, Mobile, AL 36609.

Should there be no contest, nominees to the New Horizons Credit Union Board of Directors and Supervisory Committee will be elected by acclamation at the Credit Union’s Annual Meeting on April 24, 2020.


Nominating Committee Slate of Officers Nominations


Board of Directors Nominees:

Linda J. Brown (Incumbent) – 3-year term:

Linda Brown currently serves as Chairman of New Horizons Credit Union’s Board of Directors.  She has served on the Board of Directors since 1988 and has also served on New Horizons Credit Union’s Credit Committee.  Linda has been a proud member since1974 watching New Horizons Credit Union evolve and grow.  Linda has worked for Scott Paper, West Corporation, and Mobile Sheet Metal Company.  She is a member of the Mobile Society for Human Resource Management and has volunteered for numerous community efforts.

Craig Jones (Incumbent) – 3-year term:

Craig Jones currently serves as Treasurer of New Horizons Credit Union’s Board of Directors.  Since 1988, Craig has served in many capacities as an elected official of the Credit Union to help guide the Credit Union, management team, and staff.   He has witnessed many changes in the financial industry over the years and has seen New Horizons Credit Union meet the changes head on for the good of the membership.  For over 42 years, Craig was employed at Scott Paper which later became Kimberly Clark. Craig is now retired. 

Larry R. Landrum (Incumbent) – 3-year term:

Larry Landrum currently serves on the New Horizons Credit Union Board of Directors after having served on the Supervisory Committee prior to that for over twenty dedicated years.  Larry has been a member of New Horizons Credit Union for over forty-seven years and has watched it grow over the decades.  Larry Landrum is retired from the Kimberly Clark Corporation – formerly Scott Paper Company after 32 years of service.  Larry is also an active member of his church and many other community organizations.


Supervisory Committee Nominee:

DeAnna Ferguson (Incumbent) – 3-year term:

DeAnna Ferguson currently serves on the Supervisory Committee and has been a member of the Supervisory Committee since 2014.  DeAnna first began volunteering at New Horizons Credit Union in 2011 as an Associate Board Member. DeAnna has been employed by Volunteers of American Southeast for 27 years.  She currently serves as Vice President of Services.  DeAnna also serves on the Alabama Disabilities Leadership Coalition Board, People First of Alabama Advisory Board, and the Little Tree/Learning Tree Advisory Board.